Perspectives for international cooperation in language and speech

Proposers and chairs:

Koenraad de Smedt
Universitetet i Bergen
Seksjon for lingvistiske fag
Sydnesplass 7 5007 Bergen, Norge

Gerrit Bloothooft
Utrecht Institute of Linguistics OTS
Trans 10, 3512 JK Utrecht The Netherlands

The goals of the workshop are the following:

  1. to review the relation between various initiatives aimed at natural language and speech education in Europe;
  2. to prepare cooperative actions stimulating the close cooperation between natural language groups and speech groups.

The workshop is linked to two SOCRATES thematic network projects:

  1. the ACO*HUM working group on computational linguistics and language engineering ( and the
  2. TNP on Speech Communication Sciences (

The latter network has published two books (will be available at the workshop). In the area of CL there is a report on curriculum development by Andy Way and several meeting reports by the ACO*HUM working group on CL and LE.

Speech communication studies and application developments will be central topics for the information society. Solutions require a close cooperation between the communities of natural language processing and speech sciences. This cooperation should be prepared for and stimulated in academic studies. Until now, European cooperation within the Socrates frame work has been mostly realised in separate projects. This is reflected by a separate thematic network in Speech Communication Sciences, and an CL&LE working group in the broader ACO*HUM network. During the workshop we wish to review the current state of European activities in both areas, and to prepare for cooperative actions that could start already in the academic year 1998-1999.

Core participants: Koenraad de Smedt, Gerrit Bloothooft, Andy Way, Paul McKevitt.

For those who do not intend to participate at any other workshop, there will be a possibility to discuss beyond the time slot allocated.

Minutes from the workshop


Tony Mcenery
Koenraad De Smedt
Gerrit Bloothooft
Paul McKevitt
Andy Way
Wim van Dommelen
Anders Erikson
Michael McTear
Bill Black
Klaus Fellbaum
Guy De Pauw
Knut Hofland
Paul Dekker
Torbjørn Nordgård