WORKSHOP 1: 

Formal methods in the humanities and their teaching

Proposer and chair:

Tito Orlandi
CISADU - Fac. di Lettere
P.zale Aldo Moro, 5
00185 Roma
Tel. 39+6.4991-3936
Fax  39+6.4991-3945
orlandi@rmcisadu.let.uniroma1.it
http://rmcisadu.let.uniroma1.it/~orlandi


The goals of the workshop are the following:

  1. to define and explore some of the problems raised by the use of formal methods in the humanities;
  2. to discuss the academic perspectives of future humanities;
  3. to discuss the role of the working group (see below).
See the memorandum written by Tito Orlandi (http://rmcisadu.let.uniroma1.it/~orlandi/bergmem.html) for more background and discussion themes.

The workshop is linked to the ACO*HUM working group on formal methods in the humanities (http://www.hd.uib.no/AcoHum/fm/). The stated goal of this working group is to explore the following distinct themes:

  1. How does the very nature of humanities scholarship change due to the incorporation of formal and computational methods? How does the adoption of such methods (e.g. the digitalization of language and art, the application of artificial intelligence, the use of computer simulation methods) have an impact on the humanities, from a philosophy of science viewpoint?
  2. What are the theoretical and practical problems involved in the integration of advanced computing in humanities curricula, across the various disciplines involved? Can common modules be identified offering formal and computational methods for all humanities students? In which respects must humanities computing be taught differently than other computing?
Core participants: Lou Burnard, Tito Orlandi, Harold Short, Jacques Souillot, Manfred Thaller.


Read the minutes of this workshop


Registered:
 
Ingo Kropac ingo.kropac@kfunigraz.ac.at
Finn Bostad finn.bostad@hf.ntnu.no
Allen Renear allen.renear@computing-services.oxford.ac.uk
Elisabeth Burr he229bu@unidui.uni-duisburg.de
Lou Burnard lou.burnard@computing-services.oxford.ac.uk
Sergey Yablonsky root@russicon.spb.su
Manfred Thaller thaller@hit.uib.no
Jaques Souillot jsouil@inalco.fr
Harold Short Harold.Short@kcl.ac.uk
Dag Tjemsland dagtj@teologi.uio.no
Tito Orlandi orlandi@rmcisadu.let.uniroma1.it
Espen Ore espen.ore@hit.uib.no
Joseph Bell joseph.bell@msk.uib.no
Jon Gunnar Jørgensen gunnarjo@mail.hf.uio.no
Hilde Bøe hilde.boe@ub.uio.no